Channel Four Think You Are Idiots


Ian began writing Twohundredpercent in May 2006. He lives in Brighton. He has also written for, amongst others, Pitch Invasion, FC Business Magazine, The Score, When Saturday Comes, Stand Against Modern Football and The Football Supporter. Ian was the first winner of the Socrates Award For Not Being Dead Yet at the 2010 NOPA awards for football bloggers.

You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Joe says:

    I am extremely thankful that I have no television right now. Know what you mean about feigned authenticity: Soccer AM got on my tits anyway, but particularly when that regular feature about Boston was on, or any of the Lee Trundle features. It’s easy enough to mythologise fanzine culture but it was basically brilliant. Mission Impossible, the old Darlington fanzine, not only seemed to know more about the playing and administration of football than anyone involved with the club between 1991 and 1995, it introduced me to The Fall, Joy Division and about a million other bands you don’t have a lot of access to as a thirteen year-old in rural North Yorkshire. It was run by dogmatically left-wing speedway fans with authentically SWP facial hair into the bargain, and ran regular features on local non-league football and something similar to your own “Gone But Not Forgotten” articles. It was cheaply put together and melted in the rain but at least you were spared the weekly proclamations regarding the “legend”-hood of some marginally wacky lower-league goalkeeper/ manager. Grr.

  2. Chris Taylor says:

    I assume SWP in this instance is Socialist Workers Party, and not Shaun Wright Phillips?

  3. Joe says:

    Correct. Maybe Shaun Wright-Phillips could become SW-P to avoid any confusion between marginalised political organisations and Roy of the Rovers-inspired “diminutive wingers” in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>