Honour Amongst Thieves


Ian began writing Twohundredpercent in May 2006. He lives in Brighton. He has also written for, amongst others, Pitch Invasion, FC Business Magazine, The Score, When Saturday Comes, Stand Against Modern Football and The Football Supporter. Ian was the first winner of the Socrates Award For Not Being Dead Yet at the 2010 NOPA awards for football bloggers.

You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Ed says:

    I can’t think of any Judases particularly… but two people who get my gander up do spring to mind:

    1. Brian Horton, by no means the only manager to leave Brighton because they lacked the infastructure to grow (see also Micky Adams, Peter Taylor, Steve Coppell). But he was the first, and worst. I felt glee as Albion meandered past his lousy Port Vale team, on their way to The Championship.

    2. Kurt Nogan. Brighton are sporadically in possession of a man capable of scoring league goals. He was the best one we’d had probably since Dean Saunders, and definitely since John Byrne and Mike Small left the season after we failed to win the old Division 2 playoff against Notts County. He buggered off to Preston and promptly disappeared. You see, I can’t begrudge Bobby Zamora leaving the club, it was clear he was really too good for us and good luck to him. It’s the fact that Nogan wasn’t which miffs.

  2. SubtleBlade says:

    Re: Dooley – Not just ‘…in 1973 the man that had literally given his leg for Wednesday was sacked.’ But on Christmas Eve to boot! A club with it’s heart in the right place; obviously!

  3. Twohundredpercent says:

    Subtleblade: Thanks for the reminder – I knew that there was something even more vile about the way that Derek Dooley was treated by Sheffield Wednesday. I just couldn’t remember what it was!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>